Good News & Good Tunes First things first, I am p…

Good News & Good Tunes

First things first, I am proud to say, I have been accepted to continue my education at Concordia University – heading into the Masters of Arts program in Sociology. Looking forward to a change in academic pace and intensity.

Good News #2, the abstract that Maude Bonenfant and I submitted to Digra (and was originally rejected) was recently accepted as a lightning round presentation. These are short, 5 minute presentations that serve the purpose of getting your idea out there and adding another paper to your resume =) This paper is on what we call the “zone of appropriation” in video games. This is a predominantly semiotic paper, with sociological overtones. Looking at how players appropriate the game in the space between designed and player imposed rules of play…

In the good tunes department, although not yet released in North America, Aquaduct has some great sounds and free samples to listen to.

Also, fresh purchases of the day:
Ted Leo & The Pharmacists (great upbeat tunage)
Pinback (great sounds to zone out to!)

Published by Kelly Boudreau

Associate Professor of Interactive Media Theory & Design at Harrisburg University. I research Digital Games, Play, Sociality, Avatars, Toxicity, and Social Norms & Boundary Keeping. Thoughts and ramblings on this site are my own as I grapple with all the things professional and personal and everything in between.

Leave a comment