A Few Good (Casual) Games

I love match three games and I am not ashamed to admit it. While I wait for Candy Crush to get off their butts and make more levels, I have been defaulting on my old favorite Bejeweled. I have been playing it for as long as I can remember (at least since my mid-EQ days!) – but I enjoy it so much more on the ipad – swiping makes the game so much more “zone-out-able” …. (hey, all games have their purpose!)

Match-three (or more) with a twist, I really enjoyed Two-Faced by Adorkable Games. Making use of the ability to swipe completely out of screen (onto the other side), adding the Tetris-like mounting pressure – if you let the blocks touch the top or the bottom you will eventually die .. and a few other fun twists. Worth checking out.

If you like match three games, but crave a wee bit more gameplay, a good friend of mine introduced me to Scurvy Scallywags. A match three game with a narrative and a purpose with a sense of humor – the gameplay is quick, simple and engaging enough to be played for more than just filler. And it is currently (or at least as of last evening) free in the AppStore.

Another freebie in the AppSore, although not in the match three category perse- but closely related as a color-match games is Flutter by Sebastian’s Games. Aesthetically soothing and reminds me of Thatgamecompany’s Flower, the game flows nicely and gets surprisingly challenging quicker than I would have expected.

And not quite in the category of casual/match games, but well worth a mention is TAG’s Game Designers in Residence Kitfox GamesShattered Planet:

Punching aliens … for science!

A survival adventure on a dangerous world, searching for the cure for an all-devouring darkness.

In Shattered Planet, you’re a hapless clone sent to document alien species and technologies, or die trying. Mostly, die trying. You could call it a roguelike, or a survival-exploration RPG on an endlessly dangerous planet. You lose your items when you die, but you keep any scrap metal or crystals you find to invest in permanent upgrades, or to invent new items.

Available for PC & Mac – worth every penny if you ask me =)

 

Leave a Reply

