More Networks, Less Connection

Over the last decade and a half, my digital connections have been a big part of my life. From giving me a sense of community and family when I was young and away from home, to enabling me to fight dragons with people all across the world. I hate to sound nostalgic, but I cannot keep but thinking that those were the days. I had a few tight knit digital communities, some of which have lasted for the better part of a decade.

But this morning, as I was checking my twitter feed, my facebook feed, my ‘fitnesspal’ feed, my email mailing lists and the few sports message boards I participate in, I started to feel a lot less connected even though I have more networks. The more I post – whether it’s here or on another platform, the more it feels like my words are simply released into the dark void of the internet. It feels a lot more like talking to myself than to participating in a conversation. In an effort to connect networks, I linked my twitter to my facebook, but somehow, that feels disingenuous to the platforms and their purpose. I know this is not the case for everyone, but it just seems the more places I have to share and interact with others, the more I feel disjointed and alone.

 

Leave a Reply

