The Wonders of Technology Mixed With a bit of Introspection

I know I promised to blog the CGSA conference, but, as always, I got wrapped up in attending and socializing that I did not get a chance to actually write the posts. I have a lot of notes and anecdotes that I will put together tomorrow (and with the wonders of technology – back date them so they fit chronologically). But – that is not the wonders of technology that I am talking about.

I am on the last leg of a 13 hour bus ride from the conference. If I were able to have convinced my guy to drive, it would have been an 8 hour drive – but I would not have wireless in a moving vehicle, let alone plugs to charge all my technological devices as I am in transit.

It’s funny, because while at UNB earlier this week, I was telling a story about when I lived there (1994-1995) and somehow it got on the subject of long distance plans – well – rather the fact that there wasn’t much in the way of plans back then – and I was stuck with a very (very add infinitum) high phone bill… If I remember correctly, the conversation was something like “oh, and back then, there were no unlimited long distance plans”…. thank you technology (and those who work hard to bring it to us).

I also fell into the story-telling of yore mode as I walked along the same streets I did so many years ago. Reminiscing and telling my (mostly younger) colleagues what it was like when I lived there… like “when I lived here, a cab was flat rate $2.50 anywhere in Fredericton (except the North shore). Or – when I lived here, if you were female, you could drink for free many nights of the week (ooo the ladies night of yore heh)… after a while, a good friend of mine interrupted me and said – with a bit of a chuckle and maybe a hint of …. je ne sais quoi…. “it sounds like you’re talking about the golden era…”. And as I have had the last 11 hours (2 more to go!) to sit in a dark bus and think (since my headphones hurt, and the power outlet on the last bus was out of order at my seat), I realize that in a lot of ways – it was my golden era. We all have one – the days we look back on the moments of our lives that helped shape who we are.

For me, my time in Fredericton was just that. A transitional time in my life between where I had come from and where I was going. It was me and my daughter against the world. I learned how hard it was to be in university as a single mother and learned even more about the power of community, and how strangers become friends. Cheesy, I know – but walking those streets, being so close to my old apartment, taking the same walk to the same campus really made me realize how far I have come. And it made me realize what I have to do to get to where I was going.

Leave a Reply

