Children’s Books I Wish They Had When My Kids Were Young

As the title blatantly states – there are a few books that have recently come to my attention that I wish were around when my kids were young – but then,  18 yrs ago ti was hard to find a baby bag that was not pastel ….(although my favorite book that my oldest daughter got as a gift for her first birthday in 1992 indeed set a good precedence – Matilda, Who Told Such Dreadful Lies…)

Go the F*ck to Sleep – Adam Mansbach (“I know you’re not thirsty. That’s bullshit. Stop lying. Lie the fuck down, my darling, and sleep.” ) –  How many times I may have thought this – I am happy to say, the words never “actually” came out of my mouth. What gets me with the link I provided, is the comments … the human race never ceases to amaze me…

Baby Mix Me a Drink – Lisa Brown – part of a series of six books, from the December 2006 issue of O, The Oprah Magazine: “Wish-fulfillment for wilting parents: Lisa Brown’s deliciously naughty Baby Be of Use series, helps take the boredom out of board books. Baby Mix Me a Drink, with its playroom-bright martini for Mama (‘And Nanny wants a champagne cocktail’) lifted our spirits; so didBaby Do My Banking (‘Baby, our finances are a mess! You’d better open up a new account…’). Now if we could only find a job for the dog…”

That’s Not Your Mommy Anymore – Matt Mogk & Aja Wells – as zombies have become contemporary culture’s pet fear, this one aims to help explain the warning signs and changes mommy might be going through.

Leave a Reply

