Happy New Year!

For the 7th time! Incredible to think that I started this blog during my bachelor’s degree, and here I am, in 2011, the year I am to graduate my PhD !! I am still stunned when I think about it. When I started this blog, I was muddling my way through academia – unsure of my future, hoping to simply complete a degree I had started several years prior. Amazingly, here I am. SSHRC funded, in the final year of my doctorate degree, with fingers crossed for postdoctoral funding in the fall….

That being said, the next few months will be hell. Self-inflicted, as 2010 seems to have escaped me with less written than I had anticipated, I am busting my butt to get a draft of my dissertation done for early March. In light of this, I am hoping to use my blog as a thought / writing outlet and a place to ease my angst when the going gets tough – and of course, for any distractions that I might find interesting enough to share . But I aim to keep my distractions minimal and at least related to my writing (for the next little while).

Hope the end of 2010 was well celebrated, and that 2011 brings you all that you hope for. I hope that I can finish my dissertation, and so, my tattoo!

Leave a Reply

