Canadian Game Studies Association @ Congress 2010

Another year, another CGSA conference (YAY!). It is in Montreal this year, so I get to save the cost of travel & hotel. The conference is on May 28 / 29 and is part of Congress for the second year in a row. Here is a copy of the presentations.

I am looking forward to seeing everyone, but a wee bit nervous to present what we have been working on. As always, I am presenting work outside the scope of my doctoral work on the player/avatar relationship, and presenting on concepts of indexicality and video games with a good friend and colleague, Cindy Poremba. While not my doctoral work, I did pass a comprehensive exam exploring ‘indexical elements of videogames” – mainly motion instead of ‘trace’ .. and Cindy did a full on comprehensive exam on indexicality. So we shall see how it all turns out. I have to say though, I am really excited about the paper that will come at the end of all of this. It is nice to be working on something and have a-ha moments all the way through!

Leave a Reply

